Saturday, August 18, 2018

Disable Google Location Tracking (Android+Web)

You are being tracked by the Amazon, Facebook and Google and most probably you don't even know it. The reason most of the people are not well versed with the intricacies of the mobile ecosystem. The option is enabled by default as soon you buy a new device or you are forced to.
Every place on earth you visit is stored on their servers.

If you think you are targeted for the sake of artificial intelligence or improving user experience and you do not want to be location tracked, then I will guide you through.


Delete your Location History

You can control what’s saved in your Location History, and you can delete your history at any time.

Turn Location History off

You can turn off Location History at the account level at any time and this is the time to do it. When you turn off Location History for your Google Account, it's off for all devices associated with that Google Account.

Android

  1. On your Android phone or tablet, open your device's Settings > Google Google Account.
  2. At the top, tap Data & personalization.
  3. Under "Activity controls," tap Location History.
  4. Turn Location History off for your account.
You have actually paused Location History, however your previous Location History still exists and it can be erased as well. See the next section.

Web

  1. Go to the Activity controls section of your Google Account. Sign in if required.
  2. Turn Location History off.
  3. Confirm the change. This setting will change for your Google Account and all devices associated with it.

Delete Location History

You can delete all of your Location History. If you delete your entire history, only you would be knowing where you had been.
IMPORTANT: Deleting your Location History in the Settings app is permanent. You can't reverse or undo it.

Android

  1. On your Android phone or tablet, open your device's Settings > Google Google Account.
  2. At the top, tap Data & personalization.
  3. Under "Activity controls," tap Location History.
  4. At the bottom, tap Manage Timeline. Your device will open Google Maps.
  5. Tap More > Settings Personal Content.
  6. Under "Location Settings", choose Delete all Location History.

Web

  1. Go to maps.google.com/locationhistory. Sign in if required.
  2. Click SettingsDelete all Location history.




No comments:

Post a Comment